• Click here to access some of the presentations made during the 2022 National Rally

Maybe A Alliance Avenue 32 RLS, I Have Concerns

BornBroke

The 32RLS has the residential refrigerator in it. Wife and I do a lot of boon-docking with our rv on some land we own. We now have 2011 Montana Mountaineer with a lp or electric refrigerator. I use two Honda 2000 generators for power.
I am concerned about the residential refrigerator. The Dealers Salesman told me that the 32RLS has a solar panel system that will power the refrigerator when not running the generators. We do not run the generators when we call it a night. Salesman tells me that there is
one solar panel on the roof that will power the frig.
We are going to see the Alliance Avenue 32RLS tomorrow. Is he telling me the truth? I can not afford a bigger solar system for it.

exps01

I'm no expert on electrical, but my understanding is that the residential fridge would require AC power and you'd need an inverter, which isn't standard. I'd think even with the inverter, that'd pull a decent amount of amps and would drain the battery down quickly. That will depend on what your battery setup is (how many amp hours, lithium vs lead acid, etc).

The single solar panel is also only 320w. Depending on the draw, it won't be able to charge the batteries faster than the fridge pulls power. I'd be pretty doubtful as well.

Maybe someone with a lot more experience/knowledge on electrical can chime in?

Mike in North Wales

I believe they are all 12VDC refrigerators now. If so, it will run directly off your battery(s). They stopped using 110VAC refrigerators a couple years ago. It comes down to your battery capacity.

Turfengineer

When did the 32rls start getting a residential fridge? Mine has the large gas/electric fridge and most others have a large 12v fridge.

CornCrib