• Click here to access some of the presentations made during the 2022 National Rally

Brakes

I think the problem is with the 2023 Ford 250. I get a gain setting but no output when the levers are squeezed. The the breaks lock up when the breakaway cable is pulled. I'm 3000 miles from home and not really interested in spending a week in a Ford dealership. I'm new with trailer and electric brakes, my thought is to buy a aftermarket unit and splice it in so I'm looking for recommendations from those more experienced

Thanks

Oregon_Camper

Forum Moderator
Staff member
do you have disc or drum brakes on the RV? Make sure the truck has the proper one set. Then check under hood fuse box to make sure you have the fuse to active the brakes? Do the brake lights come on (on the RV) when you apply truck brakes?

CharlieO

I think the problem is with the 2023 Ford 250. I get a gain setting but no output when the levers are squeezed. The the breaks lock up when the breakaway cable is pulled. I'm 3000 miles from home and not really interested in spending a week in a Ford dealership. I'm new with trailer and electric brakes, my thought is to buy a aftermarket unit and splice it in so I'm looking for recommendations from those more experienced

Thanks
FYI