• Click here to access some of the presentations made during the 2022 National Rally

Tow Vehicle - Hitches

Neil & Debbie

We're "almost" new owners of a Paradigm 385. Almost because the ink is not yet dry on the contract but will be tomorrow. A few months ago we purchased a 2021 RAM 3500 HO DRW Megacab short bed. The bed is equipped with factory pucks. I've been reading about hitches and short bed trucks. I've had an RV dealer tell me that I don't need a slider and that a regular hitch will work just fine. I'm new to towing a 5th wheel and would prefer to purchase one hitch that will last for many years. I like what I see in the B&W Companion and would be interested in anyone's thoughts on the slider vs fixed and cab clearance.

This doesn’t directly answer your question but I have the same truck and switched the pin box on my Valor to a Gen Y goose box and can handle most any situation

Upvote 0

Jim Beletti

Owner Experience Liaison
Staff member
@Neil & Debbie - I haven't had a short bed before but my sense is that with the standard pinbox on the Paradigm combined with the shortbox truck, the slider hitch is probably the smart play. I'm not familiar with any brand of slider hitch but I suggest you consider the automatic models that will slide back when needed. I've heard many stories over the years from owners who kept theirs locked until they felt they needed it to slide - only to smack the back of their truck cab and knock out the window and/or crunch the cab corner :(

That all said, we don't seem to have enough users here to get much traction on your post. Thank you @darrenlife for relaying what you've done. Neil - I suggest you toss this out on Facebook if you're a user. Especially the Alliance RV Owners Group page.

Upvote 0

sjankevicius