• Click here to access some of the presentations made during the 2022 National Rally

Solar/Inverter/Battery Build Thread - Paradigm 340RL

Jim Beletti

Owner Experience Liaison
Staff member
UPDATE for 25-Sep-2022 - See updates in red font below.

In July/August of 2022, I installed an energy system in my 340RL that I had removed from my last RV. I also augmented that system with additional equipment for additional and extended capabilities. This thread will document that process.

Feel free to ask questions about this system, it's capabilities and to give me input as to my system. This will be the second system I've ever done and while I'm handy, I am no expert in this area, nor do I do this sort of thing professionally. I do have some really smart friends and will use them here and there for ideas and review.

OUR CAMPING STYLE
We are not boondockers per se, though from time to time, we do find ourselves camping for a night or two in the driveway of friends and I would like to try a few Harvest Hosts. We travel with dogs, so we stop for an extended lunch break every travel day and we like to use what we want and be comfortable during these stops.

OFF-GRID SYSTEM GOALS
(rest breaks on travel days - moochdocking - Harvest Host or other boondocking locations)
  • Have the ability to use any of the 3 air conditioners that we need, based on the circumstance
  • Have the ability to power all AC power using appliances and devices (though not all at once)
  • Have the ability to power and use the TV and related entertainment gear
UPS SYSTEM GOALS
  • Have all my communications, entertainment, home automation and video surveillance gear powered 24/7 and without interruption by powering as much directly (not inverted) via DC power as possible
MAIN COMPONENTS
  • SmartPlug 50A Shore Power Inlet (will replace OEM twist-lock inlet)
  • 30A Twist-Lock Shore Power Inlet at Pinbox (for use when connected to single-phase power sources)